Skip to main content Skip to footer
Post header Skip post header

New Year Honours List 2022

Posted on Jan 7

1 min read

Alumni Events & News

Three Johnians were recognised in the Queen’s New Year Honours List 2022.

Professor James Diggle (1962) was awarded a CBE for services to Classical Scholarship. Professor Diggle is an Emeritus Professor of Greek and Latin, University of Cambridge. He studied for both his undergraduate and doctoral degrees at St John’s and became a Research Fellow at Queens’ in 1966 where he remains a Life Fellow. Professor Diggle is also a Fellow of the British Academy and is well-known for editing the Cambridge Greek Lexicon, which was 20 years in the making!

Professor James Diggle
Professor James Diggle (1962). Photography: Sir Cam

Dr Catherine McClay (1992) was awarded an OBE for services to the Energy Sector and the Promotion of Decarbonisation. Dr McClay is currently the Trading and Optimisation Director at Sembcorp Energy UK and was formerly the Head of Futures for the National Grid. She studied for her PhD in Electrical Engineering at St John’s and held a research fellowship at the College from 1996-1998. Dr McClay was listed amongst the ‘Top 50 Influential Women in Engineering’ in 2016 and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2019.

Catherine McClay
Dr Catherine McClay (1992)

Andrew Carwood (1983) was awarded an MBE for services to Choral Music. Andrew has been Director of Music at St Paul’s Cathedral since 2007 and has been the Artistic Director of his own group, The Cardinall’s Musick, since 1989. He studied for an undergraduate degree in English at St John’s and was a choral scholar in the College Choir. Andrew has directed music for HM the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and 90th Birthday Service and for the funeral of Margaret Thatcher and has received five Gramophone Awards.

Andrew Carwood
Andrew Carwood (1983). Photography: Benjamin Ealovega